Save the Melksham Train
Archived Save the Train forum articles - 2005 to 2010. See below
Has WCC gambled away 50 years of support for the TransWilts? - 7931/12796
Written by admin (Graham Ellis) on Saturday, 11th October 2008

I'm not a financial expert, so I'm having trouble appreciating everything that's going on in the tumultuous world of the city, stocks, shares, and so on at the moment - but that doesn't stop me from wanting to learn a little bit and asking questions.

My understanding is that - as a general rule - the higher the potential return from an investment the riskier it is. So by investing 8 Million pounds of money in Iceland to get (as I understand it) a higher return, Wiltshire County Council were to a greater or lesser extend gambling ... and it appears that the gamble may not have come off.  So ...

a) Who in the Council was responsible for taking the gamble?  Was it their chief financial officer, Sandra Schofield?  Was it regarded as a big enough decision for Dr Keith Robinson, the Chief Executive to be involved too?

b) Does the council really have 8 million pounds to risk in this way? They plead poverty when asked to make a contribution of perhaps 1% to 2% of this sum towards providing decent public transport links across the county, and yet they can risk the sum that's equal to 50 years of providing this service.

c) If the money is not returned, will the people who made the decisions to send it there loose their bonuses, and / or have to make any form of other recompense.  If you search around elsewhere on this site, and in local newspaper archives, you'll find that each of them gets a salary that you or I would be rather jealous of ... and that's before extras.

Re: Has WCC gambled away 50 years of support for the TransWilts? - 7931/12797
Written by admin (Graham Ellis) on Saturday, 11th October 2008

As I say - I am not a financial expert - so I'm giving you a link to what the WCC site says about this: